Good White People

Let me tell you a quick story.

A number of years ago, I was for the first time working with an immigrant population that was new to me. I had questions. I asked those questions of a colleague who had been working in this school for a number of years, hoping that he might have insights for me.

Instead, my every question was met with “Why are you asking this about this population when you might also see this behavior in the majority population?” with an insinuation that my even asking questions involving race and culture could be seen as indications of racism.

There is a certain brand of white liberalism that believes discussing race to be racist.

This is not healthy.

Here is a book recommendation: Good White People by Shannon Sullivan.

My major takeaway from this book is that if we don’t talk to our children about race, someone else will.

Do you know which white people can be counted on to talk about race to our children?

Right.

The folks who turned out with torches in Charlottesville last weekend will be more than happy to talk to our children about race.

It is important that white people with love in their hearts do so too. Just as we can talk about math with our children without always having the right answers, we can talk about race with our children without always having the right answers. Just as our children don’t have to get every math idea correct the first time they encounter it, they don’t have to nail every nuance the first time they encounter it either.

These are challenging times. This is an important book. White people need to read it.

3 responses to “Good White People

  1. Stephanie Woolsey

    Thank you so much for sharing this! With our current political climate, it’s very timely. In fact, I just had a conversation with my daughter in which we both were wondering how we, as white people of privilege, can help with the issue of racism. I look forward to reading this book!

  2. Thanks for the book recommendation and the reminders that 1) if we don’t talk with our children and students about race other folks will and 2) it’s okay to make mistakes and to not be an expert.

  3. Thank you for this recommendation.
    An in depth analysis of the book: http://hypatiareviews.org/reviews/content/301

Leave a comment