Counting brownies

Griffin (eight years old) and Tabitha (five years old) were discussing the day’s activities. The feature activity had been making brownies with Mommy. This occurred while Griffin was out the house.

Griffin: How many brownies did you make?

Tabitha: One big one! Mommy cut it up.

I have emphasized elsewhere the importance of the unit; that one is a more flexible concept than we might think.

2 responses to “Counting brownies

  1. I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again, this video was a huge revelation and subsequent solution to working multiplication/division ideas with my 7yo. She divides better than she subtracts, I think because of how this clarified my thinking (and personal learning). 🙂

  2. Pingback: A kindergartener on units [Talking math with your parents] | Overthinking my teaching

Leave a Reply

